BONASTRE is a Parisian contemporary brand of sumptuous vegetable leather bags and accessories for Men and Women. Its minimalistic and pure design have been exclusively handcrafted and give the best tribute to the discretion in Luxury.

The wonder of the handmade and know-how of a Spanish manufacture, the creative contemporary reinterpretation of tradition, the construction modeled on the modern architecture (Oscar Niemeyer, Tadao Ando...) and industrial design, the uniqueness of each item and a desire for things that will last: these are the brand’s main inspiration, not to forget the aesthetics of the object.

Therefore a BONASTRE bag is radical in its purity, voluptuous in its effects and nonchalant in its looks, to finally go straight to its essential role: the function.

bonastre.net

What did you dream of becoming when you were a kid?

In the 1980s, when I lived in Barcelona with my parents whose friends paraded in and out of their home… cheerful and eccentric personalities, with the Movida movement in full swing. Their nutty style fascinated me… this universe widened my scope of possibilities. Torn between 2 different professional projects: architecture or cosmetic surgery… fashion became an obvious choice in the end… along with making bags from skins!

How did you start?

Logically, I got into the Fashion University in Madrid and obtained a Master’s in Image and Marketing applied to Luxury. I started in Paris in 1997 at Lacroix Haute-Couture, then Montana - where my passion for leather revealed itself. I also worked in Women’s Ready-To-Wear, as Designer, Image Director and Artistic Director successively.

How would you describe yourself?

I am discreet but combative, secretive and curious, modest and cheerful, dreamy and bold, intuitive and an aesthete, generous… a surfer and keen on alternative rock, I love nature but feel definitively urban...

How do you like to work?

In shadow and light, dreams and down-to-earth, ying and yang, creation and logistics. Each season we work on doubt in particular, we call everything into question.

What is your take on fashion? What do you want your products to say?

Space is becoming a luxury in our modern world. A bag is voluminous, transportable space that we use to gather our intimacy. In my creations there is strong, rational conceptual thought on volume and behaviour of material in space. From then on it is a matter of accuracy of the concepts that generate beauty. I showcase plant leather, raw and natural skin upon which, like a surgeon, I draw and imagine the outline of these creations. And last of all, it is the wonder and the technique behind what is hand-made in a traditional workshop that puts forward values and projects an ancestral leather goods culture into modernity.

Who inspires you? What moves you?

I am passionate about industrial design or minimalist artwork by architects such as Oscar Niemeyer or Tadao Ando. I admire the creative breeze of legendary couturiers: Balenciaga, Madeleine Vionnet… and the conceptual approach behind avant-garde Japanese fashion: Junya Watanabe, Rei Kawakubo, Yohji Yamamoto.

How would you describe your brand?

A minimalist and uncluttered style that respects our planet, dictated by the search for simplicity and aestheticism. The final model claims to be radical in its purity, voluptuous in its volume and nonchalant in its look, to serve only the ultimate and essential aim: its purpose. I have a firm permanent technical stance and a vital architectural drive, where material and construction interlock and form the pattern of collections.

What part of your life influences your designs the most?

States of contemplation and extreme curiosity.

Is traveling regularly also an important aspect of your creative process?

I thrive on Japan or New York. But Paris is a melting pot of cultures, of influences and of arts. Here we find a convergence of cultures shown in the avant-garde prism. It is also a reference for beauty, elegance, glamour and consequently excellence and know-how of a whole chain of creation and craft trades.

What was the last place that really fascinated you?

Tokyo and its multitude of inhabitants but where one feels respected as an individual. A city with a unique energy.

Would you say that you created your brand by following your instinct?

As a designer, instinct is an essential sixth sense. Instinct, to dare and the desire to seduce….

What is the main challenge that your brand is facing today?

To help it grow...

What was the IFM diagnosis on the management of your brand?

The brand must initiate a new phase of development: create a finance plan for the 5 coming years and find the means to put it into place.

On what aspects did IFM help you?

I created my brand and I financed it single-handedly. IFM’s support was welcome. The team of consultants at IFM enabled me to open up the brand’s perspectives and vision by showing me the path to follow for its development. This team of professionals managed to put their finger on the strengths to build on and the weaknesses to improve upon.

What is the next step for your brand?

To find funding to reinforce sales strategy by recruiting a developer, to revamp sales points and the website. The brand’s future will require the opening of sole proprietorship boutiques, online, in Paris and in international capital cities.

Would you ever consider working for other brands?

I occasionally step in as freelance designer-creator with potential production follow-up for creation of collections for brands, most recently Aston Martin.

Any advice you can share with young designers who dream of starting their own brand?

Have your own project: don’t do what others are doing, as that has already been done. Know how to surround yourself with the right people and listen to your instinct...

Any message to potential investors or buyers?

Welcome to BONASTRE! The product is exceptional and we have exceptional clients. What is more, we have a global and long-term vision of the brand.

Apologie
Jacquemus

BONASTRE est une marque parisienne de sacs et accessoires de maroquinerie pour l’homme et la femme. Ses collections au design minimaliste et contemporain sont réalisées avec des peaux au tannage végétal et sont un appel à la discrétion dans le Luxe.

La réinterprétation contemporaine des codes de la maroquinerie traditionnelle, la construction à l'image de l'architecture moderne (Oscar Niemeyer, Tadao Ando...) et le design industriel, l’esthétique de l’objet et le désir des choses qui durent : voilà les principales sources d’inspiration de la marque qui font que chaque pièce est une pièce unique.

De fait, un sac Bonastre exalte une pureté radicale, un effet voluptueux et une touche nonchalante pour aller tout simplement à son rôle essentiel et pratique : sa fonction.

bonastre.net

Que voulais-tu devenir quand tu étais enfant ?

Dans les années 80, alors que je vivais à Barcelone, les amis qui défilaient chez mes parents étaient des personnages gais et excentriques, en plein mouvement de la Movida. Leur style déjanté me fascinait et cet univers a ouvert mon champ des possibles. J'étais tiraillé entre deux projets professionnels : l’architecture OU la chirurgie esthétique... c’est la mode qui s'est finalement imposée comme une évidence et... la construction de sacs en peau !

Comment as-tu démarré ?

Tout logiquement, j’ai intégré l’Université de la Mode à Madrid et obtenu un Master d’Image et Marketing appliqué au Luxe. J’ai débuté à Paris en 1997 chez Lacroix Haute-Couture, puis Montana, maison au sein de laquelle s'est révélée ma passion pour le cuir. J’ai exercé aussi dans le Prêt-à-Porter Femme, successivement en tant que Styliste, Directeur d’Image et Directeur Artistique.

Comment te décris-tu ?

Je suis discret mais combatif, secret et curieux, pudique et gai, rêveur et audacieux, intuitif et esthète, généreux... surfeur et adepte de rock alternatif, j’adore la nature, mais je me sens définitivement urbain.

Comment travailles-tu ?

L'ombre et la lumière, le rêve et le terre-à-terre, le ying et le yang, la création et la logistique. Chaque saison, on travaille surtout sur le doute, on remet tout en question.

Quelle est ta vision de la mode ? Que doivent dire tes produits ?

L'espace devient un luxe de notre monde moderne. Un sac est un volume, de l'espace transportable dont on dispose pour y recueillir notre intimité. Il y a dans ma création une réflexion conceptuelle forte et rationnelle sur le volume et le comportement de la matière dans l'espace. Ensuite c'est la justesse des concepts qui génère la beauté. Je mets en exergue le cuir végétal (peau brute naturelle) sur lequel, tel un chirurgien, je dessine et imagine les contours de ces créations. Et finalement, c'est le savoir-faire d'un atelier traditionnel qui projette la culture ancestrale de la maroquinerie dans la modernité.

Qui t'inspire ? Qu'est-ce qui t'émeut ?

Je suis passionné par le design industriel et les œuvres minimalistes d’architectes comme Oscar Niemeyer ou Tadao Ando. J’admire le souffle créateur de couturiers légendaires: Balenciaga, Madeleine Vionnet... et l’approche conceptuelle de la mode japonaise avant-gardiste : Junya Watanabe, Rei Kawakubo, Yohji Yamamoto.

Comment décris-tu ta marque ?

Un style minimaliste et épuré, structuré et respectueux de notre planète, dicté par la recherche de la simplicité et de l’esthétisme. Le modèle final se veut radical dans sa pureté, voluptueux dans ses volumes et nonchalant dans son look, pour ne servir qu'un but ultime et essentiel : sa fonction. J’ai un parti-pris technique permanent et une volonté architecturale primordiale, où matière et construction s’imbriquent et rythment les collections.

Quel moment de ta vie influence tes créations ?

Des états de contemplation et de curiosité extrêmes.

Le voyage est-il une part importante de ton processus créatif ?

Le Japon ou New York me nourrissent. Mais Paris est un creuset de cultures, d'influences et d'arts. C’est la confluence de cultures passées dans le prisme de l’avant- garde. C'est aussi une référence du beau, de l'élégance, du glamour et par conséquent de l'excellence et du savoir-faire de toute une chaîne de métiers de création et d'artisans.

Quel est le dernier lieu qui t'ait vraiment fasciné ?

Tokyo et sa multitude d’habitants mais où l’on se sent respecté en tant qu’individu. Une ville avec une énergie singulière.

As-tu créé ta propre marque par instinct ?

L’instinct est un sixième sens essentiel en tant que créateur. L’instinct, oser et le désir de séduire...

Quel est l'enjeu principal pour ta marque aujourd'hui ?

L’accompagner vers le développement...

Quel était le diagnostic de l'IFM sur la gestion de ta marque ?

La marque doit amorcer une nouvelle phase de développement : concevoir un plan de financement sur les 5 prochaines années et trouver les moyens pour le mettre en place.

Sur quels aspects l’IFM t'a-t'il aidé ?

J’ai créé ma marque et je l’ai auto-financée seul. L’accompagnement de l’IFM a été le bienvenu. L’équipe de consultants de l’IFM m’a permis de mettre en perspective la vision de la marque en me montrant les voies à suivre pour son développement. Cette équipe de professionnels a su mettre le doigt sur les points forts à développer et les points faibles à améliorer.

Quelles sont les prochaines étapes pour ta marque ?

Trouver le financement pour renforcer la stratégie commerciale en recrutant un développeur, repenser les points de vente et le site internet. L’avenir de la marque passera par l’ouverture de boutiques en propre à Paris et dans les capitales internationales.

Envisagerais-tu de travailler pour d’autres marques ?

J’interviens occasionnellement en tant que styliste-créateur free- lance avec éventuellement le suivi de production pour la création de collections pour des marques, la dernière en date étant Aston Martin.

Un conseil à partager avec de jeunes créateurs qui rêvent de lancer leur propre marque ?

Avoir un projet singulier et ne pas faire ce que font les autres, car c’est déjà fait. Savoir s’entourer et écouter son instinct.

Un message aux investisseurs ou acheteurs potentiels ?

Bienvenue chez BONASTRE ! Le produit est exceptionnel et nous avons des clients exceptionnels. De plus, nous avons une vision globale et à long terme de la marque.

Apologie
Jacquemus