Jacquemus started his own label when he was 19 under his mother maiden name, Jacquemus. His collections are deconstructed and surrealist. His creative approach is pushing the boundaries of French fashion with a child-like spirit and sense of freedom. His work is often featuring asymmetrical designs, oversized silhouettes, experimental make up and shoeless or topless models. Jacquemus has a strong social media presence, helped by playful presentation of his images on Instagram.

jacquemus.com

What did you dream of becoming when you were a kid?

When I was a kid, I wanted to write my own biography and shoot films. I was literally obsessed with images and I guess if I’m into fashion today it’s not because I was obsessed by the idea of a garment but because I was obsessed by telling stories and shooting films. My films are very autobiographical, each collection is a piece of my history in a way.

How did you start?

I started in a very simple manner. Fashion is about clothes, I made clothes and published pictures of them on my website. In a naïve, spontaneous sort of way, at 19, broke, with no relationships, just massive motivation!

How would you describe yourself?

I’d like to see myself as naïve, ultra-simple and natural, just like my clothes, that’s the way I’d like to be.

How do you work?

Very simply, by exchanging, with friends, with my best girlfriend whom I’ve known since I was 8, it’s family, it’s simple. Initially it was my friends who supported my project.

What is your take on fashion? What do you want your products to say?

There is a certain philosophy and a way of thinking that I put into fashion: don’t brag, and be as simple as possible. I’d like people who come to a Jacquemus show to feel the relaxed atmosphere, just like myself, the family environment, with products that come straight from the heart.

Who or what inspires you?

French films, music and culture inspire me most, from Jacques Demy to Agnès Varda, as well as typical 80s movies such as L’effrontée starring Charlotte Gainsbourg.

What moves you?

Poetry of all kinds, everyday poetry.

What part of your life influences your designs the most?

It doesn’t even feel like going to work, there’s no limit and that can be a problem. I never know when I’m working and when I’m not. It’s all my life, my brand is my mother’s name, it’s not something that I do on the side to build my CV, it’s my life I’m putting in, my whole life. You can see it in one of my shows, when I talk about an accident that happened to me, or in another, when I talk about my holidays at Grande Motte, everything is autobiographical.

Is traveling regularly also an important aspect of your creative process?

Not really, what I value most is meeting people.

What was the last place that really fascinated you?

Marseille is the place I love and will always fascinate me.

Did you create your brand by following your instinct?

Of course!

What is the main challenge that your brand is facing today?

I don’t want to think in those terms. I try and do things instinctively. This comes with worries, problems and things you need to know…

What was the IFM diagnosis on the management of your brand?

We had understood many things about sales, about communication.

On what aspects did the IFM help you?

On strategic and business issues, how to structure a “business plan”, what a nice word!, that sort of things.

What is the next step for your brand?

My dream isn’t working for a brand. My dream 50 years from now would be young people wanting to take over my brand. I wish more young designers remained in charge of their own companies. It’s important to create something today that speaks to our generation, that talks about youth, and remains that way. For me it’s so obvious.

Bonastre
Monsieur Lacenaire

Jacquemus a commencé sa propre marque quand il avait 19 ans, sous le nom de jeune fille de sa mère, Jacquemus. Ses collections sont déconstruit et surréaliste. Son approche créative est de repousser les limites de la mode française avec un esprit enfantin et le sens de la liberté. Son travail est souvent fait avec des motifs asymétriques, des silhouettes surdimensionnées, du maquillage expérimentale et avec des modèles pieds nus ou torse nu. Jacquemus est très présent sur les médias sociaux, aidé par la présentation ludique de ses images sur Instagram.

jacquemus.com

Que voulais-tu devenir quand tu étais enfant ?

Petit, je voulais écrire ma biographie et créer des films. J’étais vraiment obsédé par les images et c’est vrai que, si j’ai fait de la mode aujourd’hui, ce n’est pas parce que j’étais obsédé par l’idée du vêtement mais parce que j’étais obsédé par le fait de raconter des histoires et de créer des films. Je fais des films qui sont très autobiographiques, chaque collection est un peu mon histoire.

Comment as-tu démarré ?

J’ai démarré simplement. La mode c’est des vêtements, j’ai fait des vêtements et j’ai publié des images sur mon site. Tout naïvement, spontanément, à 19 ans, sans argent, sans contact, juste avec une motivation de Ouf !

Comment te décris-tu ?

J’aimerais me décrire comme naïf, ultra simple et brut, comme mes vêtements, j’aimerais bien être comme ça.

Comment travailles tu ?

Simplement, ce sont des rencontres, des amis, ma meilleure copine que je connais depuis que j’ai 8 ans, c’est familial, c’est simple. A la base ce sont des amis qui ont soutenu mon projet.

Quelle est ta vision de la mode ?

J’ai une certaine philosophie et une manière de pensée que je mets dans la mode : ne pas s’y croire et être assez simple. Qu’on vienne à un défilé Jacquemus et qu’on y trouve une ambiance détendue, comme je suis, assez familiale avec des choses faites avec le cœur.

Qu’est-ce qui t’inspire ?

Les films, la musique, la culture française m’inspire beaucoup de Jacques Demy à Agnès Varda en passant par les films clichés des années 80 comme L’effrontée avec Charlotte Gainsbourg.

Qu’est-ce qui t’émeut ?

La poésie de tous les genres, la poésie de tous les jours.

Quel moment de ta vie influence tes créations ?

Je n’ai pas l’impression de venir au travail, il n’y a aucune limite et c’est un peu le problème. Je ne sais pas quand je travaille et quand je ne travaille pas. C’est que ça ma vie, c’est le nom de ma mère cette marque, c’est pas un projet que je fais à gauche pour construire un CV, c’est ma vie que je mets ici, toute ma vie. On peut le voir dans un défilé, quand je parle d’un accident qui m’est arrivé, dans un autre je parle de vacances à la Grande Motte, tout est biographique.

Le voyage est-il une part importante de ton processus créatif ?

Pas vraiment, j’aime d’abord rencontrer des gens

Quel est le dernier lieu qui t’ait vraiment fasciné ?

Le lieu que j’aime c’est Marseille, qui me fascinera toujours.

As-tu créé ta marque par instinct ?

Bien évidemment !

Quel est l’enjeu principal pour ta marque aujourd’hui ?

On avait compris beaucoup de choses, sur le commercial, la communication.

Quel a été le diagnostic de l'IFM sur la gestion de ta marque ?

On avait compris beaucoup de choses, sur le commercial, la communication.

Quel a été le diagnostic de l'IFM sur la gestion de ta marque ?Sur quels aspects l'IFM t’a- t’il aidé ?

Sur les points stratégiques et business, structurer un business-plan, ce genre de joli mot !

Quelles sont les prochaines étapes pour ta marque ?

Mon rêve ce n’est pas de travailler pour une marque. Mon rêve serait que dans 50 ans des jeunes veuillent reprendre ma marque. J’ai envie qu’il y ait plus de jeunes créateurs qui restent à la tête de leurs maisons. C’est important de créer quelque chose aujourd’hui qui parle à notre génération, qui parle de jeunes et de le garder. Pour moi c’est une évidence.

Bonastre
Monsieur Lacenaire